Wedding Anniversary Whisky

Let me explain

My beautiful wife and I married last year at which time she presented me with a bottle of 21-year-old Glenfiddich as a wedding gift. I decided that a special bottle such as this needed to be savoured slowly and that I would help celebrate our anniversary each year with a single dram of this amazing whisky.

Now those that know me well will understand that waiting a whole year for that first taste has been quite a challenge  🙂

A 21-year-old bottling from Glenfiddich, finished in casks used previously to age Caribbean Rum.

Glenfiddich Rum Finish 21 Tasting Notes

Nose: Barley sugar, malt, dark brown sugar, orange peels, marmalade, manuka honey, Chocolate, foam bananas.
Palate: Full, fruitcake, spices, buttery vanilla, malty. Oak.
Finish: Long, mochaccino, marmalade.

Update:

Well a year flew by and our wedding anniversary arrived. Amongst all the well wishing some time was found to finally open the bottle that had spent a year patiently waiting to take its first breath of air. Of the many visitors we had that day my Best man was there and i thought it only fitting to let him sample this too. . .

Was it worth the wait ? Will I manage to wait another whole year before removing the cork once more?

Well first of all YES ! It was most certainly worth the wait. I don’t think I have ever been disappointed by any of the Glenfiddich range but this 21-year-old whisky is amazingly smooth. I was surprised by just how much the rum casks have influenced the flavour of the whisky and trust me its a good thing. As for waiting another whole year to sample this wonderful dram I’ll keep you posted . . .

4 responses

  1. Good god! You’re going to wait a year between drinks? Now that’s what I call patience! This sounds like a great after dinner SIngle Malt. I’m sure I’ve had it, but when you go to those big whisky tasting events, things tend to blur after your 4th or 5th tasting. I’ll be sure to give this a try!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Call me an old romantic but it seems a great way of celebrating our anniversary by only enjoying this malt once a year ! However before anyone panics I have many other whiskies to keep me going for the rest of the year 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by to leave a comment

Please let us know what you think of our post by leaving a comment

